Nevada Teen Driving Laws
Every parent holds their breath when their teenager heads to the DMV to get their driving permit. Keeping teenage drivers safe on the roads is a concern for everyone. The State of Nevada has some laws that are aimed at keeping teen drivers safe. There is a graduated license system for young drivers. There are also no-tolerance drunk driving laws that apply only to drivers under 21 years of age. Here’s what you need to know about keeping teen drivers safe in Nevada from experienced Las Vegas car accident lawyers.
START YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
NO FEES UNLESS WE WIN!
Driving Safety for Teens in Nevada
The State of Nevada has multiple initiatives designed to help teens stay safe on the roads. The State of Nevada uses a graduated licensing system designed to help teens get the experience that they need to be safe drivers. While teens can drive alone after hours of practice and after taking a driving test, there are passenger restrictions and rules for driving at night. In addition, the State of Nevada prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from operating a motor vehicle with measurable bodily alcohol content.
Nevada Teen Graduated Driver’s License Laws
Nevada uses a graduated license system for teen drivers. At age 15½, a teen may apply for a driving permit. With a permit, the teen must complete 50 hours of driving and a classroom driver’s education course before applying for a minor license. After six months with a permit, a teen may apply for a minor license. With a minor license, the teen may drive alone, but there are restrictions on transporting minors and driving at night. An 18-year-old may get a full, unrestricted license in the State of Nevada.
Rules for Driving Permits in Nevada
At the age of 15½, a teen can get a driving permit. To obtain a driving permit in the State of Nevada, a teen must meet these requirements:
- The teen must be at least 15½ years old on the day of application
- A parent must apply with the teen
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a written test
- Show proof of school attendance
With a teen driving permit, the following rules apply:
- The teen may drive only with a licensed driver 21 years or older
- The adult who supervises the teen must have one or more years of driving experience
- Before getting a minor license, the teen must complete 50 hours of driving with a parent or guardian; at least 10 of the hours must be at night
- Before getting a minor license, the teen must complete a driver’s education course that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction
What Are the Rules for a 16-Year-Old Driver in Nevada?
A 16-year-old driver may drive with a permit or with a minor license. To get a permit, the driver must apply with a parent, take a vision and written test, and show proof of school attendance. After 50 hours of practice with the permit and a driver’s education course, a 16-year-old may take a driving test for a minor license. With a minor license, a 16-year-old may drive alone. They may not transport passengers under 18 except for family for the first six months. They may not drive between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. except for work and school events.
Rules for Minor Driver’s License in Nevada
Here are the rules for a minor driver’s license in Nevada:
- At least 16 years of age
- Must have a permit for at least six months
- May not have any at-fault crashes, moving violations or drug/alcohol offenses in the six-month permit period
- Pass an on-the-road driving test
- Submit a log of 50 practice driving hours
- May not transport a passenger under 18 years old except family members for the first six months
- May not drive between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 p.m. except for school events and work
- Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seat belt at all times
When a teenager turns 18, they may apply for a full unrestricted license.
Teen DUI Laws in Nevada
Teen DUI laws in Nevada make it illegal for anyone under 21 to drive with a bodily alcohol content. Even if the teen is under the legal limit for people over 21, and even if the alcohol doesn’t impair the teen’s ability to drive, they are still in violation of the law by driving with a bodily alcohol content of .02 or above. Nevada Revised Statutes 483.462 is Nevada’s no-tolerance law for teen drivers.
Is Nevada a No-Tolerance State?
Yes, Nevada is a no-tolerance state. It’s illegal for a minor to operate a motor vehicle with any bodily alcohol content. Even if the minor has a bodily alcohol content that is under the legal limit for someone 21 years old or older, they are still breaking the law because of their age. Driving with any bodily alcohol content of .02 or higher puts a minor in violation of the law.
Nevada Driving Laws Apply to Teens
In addition to their own graduated licensing system and no-tolerance drunk driving laws, all of the rules of the road apply to teen drivers. Teen drivers who do not follow traffic laws find themselves subject to the same fines, license points, and criminal penalties that apply to adult drivers. All teens must be careful to understand and follow traffic laws to avoid license sanctions, and most importantly, stay safe on the roads.
Nevada Attorneys for Accidents Involving Teenage Drivers
Has your teen been in an accident? Are you wondering how to help your teen in the aftermath of a traffic accident? When an accident involves a teen, it can be especially complex.
Our team of understanding car accident attorneys can help you understand your child’s rights. We can help you make a plan to help your child after an accident. It’s never easy when your child is in a crash. Let us handle the stress and burden of the legal side of things and help your child start the path to recovery.
Your call is free and confidential. Call us today. We look forward to working with you.
This webpage is not intended to be an advertisement or solicitation. The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Material contained in our website is for general information only and does not constitute legal advice or solicitation of legal services.
Transmission of information from this site is not intended to create, and its receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship between Adam S. Kutner and the user of this site. In the event that any information on this web site does not conform fully with regulations in any jurisdiction, this law firm will not accept representation based on that information.
Adam S. Kutner
PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER
Con más de 31 años de experiencia luchando por víctimas de lesiones personales en el valle de Las Vegas, el abogado Adam S. Kutner conoce bien el sistema judicial de Nevada y cómo lograr que los clientes lleguen a un acuerdo de manera rápida y sin problemas.
Adam Kutner es uno de los 100 mejores abogados litigantes con experiencia y conocimientos que lo beneficiarán
Llámenos hoy al (702) 382-0000 en cualquier momento para programar una consulta gratuita. Trabajaremos para conseguirle la máxima liquidación lo antes posible.
Adam S. Kutner, Esq.
Conozca a más abogados asociados
Adam Kutner Reviews & Testimonials
“We were in a car accident – we were coming off of the interstate and were waiting – yielding at the exit and a car sped through the exit and smacked us in the rear.
It was definitely scary especially because we had our baby in the car. My husband and I and our baby in the back seat. We definitely – immediately went back in and checked on her to make sure she was okay.
We definitely had back pains my daughter had headaches. She kept holding her head and crying. It was pretty bad.
I remember seeing a couple billboards and a friend of mine did say they had a pleasant experience with Adam Kutner, so we called them right up.
They definitely were thorough, and you could tell just by talking to the people in the office that they genuinely cared about their clients.
They contacted us saying you know, explain the process on how the settlement gets done and about a week after that happened we had our settlement which was great and in my opinion Adam S. Kutner is the best attorney in Las Vegas.”
– Janae Reynolds. 5/5 Stars