Preguntas frecuentes sobre accidentes automovilisticos en nevada
When you are in a car accident, you have many questions. Our Las Vegas car accident attorneys are here to help you. Here are some frequently asked questions about car accidents from our legal team:
1. Where do I file a police report in Las Vegas?
To file a police report in Las Vegas, you can file a report online . You can also find your local police station and make a report in person. Also, if you call the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department’s non-emergency number, (702) 828-3111, they can take your information and help you make a report. If you are in North Las Vegas, you can call the non-emergency number (702) 633-9111 to make a report. If you are reporting a stolen license plate in North Las Vegas, you must file your report in person.
2. Is Nevada a no-fault state for car accidents?
No, Nevada is not a no-fault state for car accidents. Instead, the person responsible for the accident must pay the victims for their losses, even if their injuries and losses are minor. While Nevada has mandatory auto insurance, the insurance that drivers must purchase is liability insurance. Mandatory car insurance in Nevada is meant to pay victims when you are at fault for an accident. Even though Nevada is a state at fault for car accidents, you can still buy uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage that makes up for it if the at- fault party does not have adequate auto insurance .
3. How long do you have to report a car accident in Nevada?
You have 10 days from the date of the accident to report a car accident in Nevada. Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.10 say that you must file an SR-1 Traffic Accident Report within 10 days of a car accident. You must report if anyone was injured or killed in the accident or if there is apparent damage of $ 750 or more. But if the police respond to the scene of the accident and make their own report, you do not have to file a police report.
4. What is considered comprehensive insurance coverage in Nevada?
In Nevada, the total insurance coverage is $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident for bodily injury and an additional $ 50,000 for property damage. You must also have $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage. Although these are the minimum amounts, you can buy more than the minimum insurance amounts . The total amount of insurance in Nevada is just the lowest amount of coverage you need to drive legally in the state.
5. How long does an insurance company have to resolve a claim in Nevada?
An insurance company has 30 days to resolve a claim in Nevada. Nevada law 690B.012 gives the insurance company 30 days to complete an investigation . The only exception is if the investigation cannot reasonably be completed within 30 days. If the insurance company acts in bad faith in investigating and paying your claim , the insurance company may be legally liable to you for the delay, in addition to what they owe you for the claim.
6. Do most car accident cases go to court?
No, most car accident cases do not go to court. Most car accident cases are settled by settlement before the trial date. In some cases, the parties reach an agreement before a formal legal case begins. Even if a car accident case does have some court hearings, they are usually preliminary hearings and not a trial. The evidence creation process and alternative dispute resolution procedures , such as mediation, facilitate the resolution of the vast majority of car accident cases.
7. What should you do after a car accident?
After a car accident , you should call 911 if someone is injured. If there are no signs of injury, you should call the non-emergency number for your local police department. You must exchange your driver’s license and insurance information with the other driver. Take photos of the accident scene, including the two vehicles and the larger surrounding scene. Gather names and contact information for witnesses. Report the accident to your insurance as soon as possible.
8. What should you not do after a car accident?
After a car accident, you should not flee the scene. You shouldn’t admit guilt, say you’re sorry, or guess something when you’re not sure of the answer. You should not refuse medical treatment in the hope that your injuries will get better on their own. Also, you shouldn’t talk to the other party’s insurance company without an attorney.
9. How long do I have to file a Nevada car accident claim?
You have two years from the date of the car accident to file a car accident lawsuit in Nevada. If the case involves injury or death, two years is the time limit for filing a claim. If the claim is based on a vehicle defect, you have four years from the date of discovery of the defect to file your claim.
10. Does Nevada require car insurance?
Yes, Nevada requires auto insurance. All drivers on the road must have a minimum amount of auto insurance that covers personal injury, property damage, and uninsured drivers. To be legally on the road, you must have valid insurance that meets the minimum requirements. You can buy additional coverage in addition to the minimums.
11. What happens if you are in an accident without a license?
If you are in an accident without a license, the same standards of legal liability apply. Even an unlicensed driver can receive financial compensation. Driving without a license can be a comparative error , so the amount that the unlicensed driver recovers can be reduced. But the general rule of thumb is that the same car accident laws apply when an unlicensed driver is involved. The unlicensed driver can face criminal charges for driving without a license.
12. What are Nevada’s car accident laws?
Nevada car accident laws are civil negligence laws. A driver is subject to victims when an accident occurs because the driver is careless on the road. The law is that the responsible driver must compensate the victim for their financial losses and pay an additional amount to cover pain and suffering .
LLAMENOS AHORA PARA UNA CONSULTA GRATIS!
EL ABOGADO DE LESIÓN
Nuestro bufete de abogados de lesiones personales está formado por un equipo de abogados expertos.
Llame ahora para más detalles
SE HABLA ESPAÑOL
Adam Kutner es uno de 100 abogados superior con reconocida experiencia que lo beneficiará a usted.
Llamemos hoy a (702) 382-0000 en cualquier momento para un horario de consulta gratis. Trabajaremos para obtener le la máxima compensación lo mas pronto posible.