Nevada Seat Belt & Child Seat Laws (2020)
Being a responsible driver is essential for the safe use of any vehicle. It’s important to know the laws of the state you live in so you don’t get fined or penalized for not following the rules. The car accident attorneys at Adam Kutner law firm explain the latest seat belt laws for Nevadans to keep you and your passengers safe.
START YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
NO FEES UNLESS WE WIN!
Las Vegas Seat Belt & Child Seat Laws FAQs
Do You Have to Wear a Seat Belt in the Back Seat in Nevada?
Yes, you have to wear a seat belt in the back seat in Nevada. Nevada state laws require everyone in a vehicle to have a seat belt on no matter where you’re sitting in the car. Even passengers in the back seat must wear a seat belt at all times in Nevada.1
- The law says that everyone older than six years and who weighs 60 pounds or more must wear a safety belt or shoulder harness at all times in a moving vehicle.
- Children less than or equal to 57 inches and under six years of age must ride in a child seat.
- Additionally, children under two years of age must utilize a child restraint system in a rear-facing car seat in the backseat of a vehicle.
Each person in the vehicle must wear a safety belt fitted for their seating position. The driver or passenger may get a ticket for a seat belt violation. Law enforcement may issue a citation to the driver for a child not wearing a seat belt.
Get The Right Help To Win Your Car Accident Case
With over 31 years of experience in motor vehicle accident law, we can help. Schedule a free consultation today.
What Is the Penalty for Not Wearing a Seat Belt in Nevada
The penalty for not wearing a seat belt in Nevada starts at a $25 fine. Failing to wear a seat belt is a misdemeanor offense in Nevada that goes on your criminal record. If you fail to respond to a ticket, the court may issue a bench warrant for your arrest.
A seat belt violation is not a moving violation in Nevada. It’s a non-moving violation. The State of Nevada does not assess license points for a seat belt violation, and they don’t suspend your license for it. However, a child car seat violation involving a child passenger may result in more severe penalties such as a license suspension. If both the driver and a child are without seat belts, law enforcement may issue only one citation for both offenses.
There are exemptions to seat belt laws in Nevada, which include:
- The person has a doctor’s note that excuses them from wearing a seat belt for medical reasons
- Postal employees delivering mail
- Delivery drivers traveling no more than 15 mph and make frequent stops (newspaper or phone book deliveries, for example)
- People using public transportation
Can You Have a Jury Trial for Failure To Wear a Seat Belt in Nevada?
No, you can’t have a jury trial for failing to wear a seat belt in Nevada. The charge isn’t serious enough for constitutional jury trial rights to apply. If you contest your seat belt charge, you can expect to have a bench trial in front of a judge.
However, you can seal a conviction in Nevada for failing to wear a seat belt. You must wait one year from the date of your conviction to begin the sealing process. If the court dismisses your seat belt charge, you can have the record sealed right away.
What Are Defenses to Not Wearing a Seat Belt in Nevada?
Here are some possible defenses to a charge of not wearing a seat belt in Nevada:
- The defendant was wearing a seat belt; the police were mistaken. Substantial photo evidence will be your biggest adversary in the courtroom, though.
- There was no seat belt available in the vehicle, and the car was so old that the vehicle was exempt from having them.
- A driver or passenger has a medical excuse and a doctor’s note. Even a post-dated doctor’s note from after your seat belt violation can be a defense in court.
- Police pull the driver over only to investigate the seat belt violation. This is known as an impermissible stop. The police can only cite you for a seat belt offense if they stop you for another offense (this is called a secondary offense after an initial violation of the law). If they pull you over just for the seat belt, the court should suppress the evidence against you and dismiss your case.
- The state attorney agrees to dismiss the charges as part of a plea bargain for other charges.
Act Today! Waiting Can Hinder Your Claim
There is no obligation and no fees unless we win your case. Schedule a free consultation today.
Should I Fight a Seat Belt Ticket in Nevada?
Because a seat belt ticket is a secondary offense, it almost always accompanies other charges in the State of Nevada. That makes it a good idea to speak with a car accident attorney in nearly every case and fight the charges even if you think the case seems hopeless.
An experienced attorney can help you address all of the charges against you with a comprehensive approach and legal strategy.
Can Not Wearing a Seat Belt Be an Issue in a Car Accident Case?
Yes, not wearing a seat belt can be an issue in a car accident case. The defendant may argue that you are responsible for some of your own damages if you fail to wear a seat belt. They can make the argument even if you aren’t at fault for the accident.
However, it’s essential to understand that you may still be able to bring a claim for compensation if the accident is someone else’s fault. An experienced attorney can help you understand how not wearing a seat belt might play a role in your car accident case.
What Are the Nevada Car Seat Laws in 2022?
Nevada car seat laws in 2022 require drivers to secure a child in a car seat when the child is less than or equal to 57 inches and under 60 pounds2. The law requires qualifying children to have a car seat appropriate for their size. The seat must be installed and securely attached to the vehicle. Once a child is six years old and weighs 60 pounds, the rule no longer applies.
Children under two years old must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat unless they reach the height and weight limit of the manufacturer.
Nevada car seat laws in 2022 impose a penalty of a $100 fine or community service for first-time car seat violations with the option to undergo training and an inspection to waive or reduce the amount of the penalty.
What Are the Booster Seat Requirements in Nevada?
Booster seat requirements in Nevada are part of all child car seat laws. They are:
- Children must be secured in a car seat until they are at least six years old and 60 pounds.
- The car seat must be appropriate for the child’s size and weight.
- A booster seat meets the definition of a car seat in Nevada. If the child must use a car seat, a booster seat can meet the requirement if it’s appropriate for the child’s size and weight.
- When a child turns six years old and weighs over 60 pounds, they are no longer required to use a car seat. However, the State of Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles still recommends using a booster seat until the child is at least eight years old and until the seat belt fits properly.
- Some children may need a booster seat up until age 12.
- If a child who falls under the car seat requirements fails to use a booster seat or any other kind of car seat, the driver may be subject to the penalties for a car seat violation.
Act Today! Waiting Can Hinder Your Claim
There is no obligation and no fees unless we win your case. Schedule a free consultation today.
What Are Clark County Booster Seat Laws?
Clark County booster seat laws require children to use booster seats until they are at least six years old and 60 pounds. A booster seat is only required in Clark County if a child falls in this category. However, booster seats are important until a child can correctly wear a seatbelt. A seatbelt should cross the child’s thighs3. If the child is not of a sufficient size for the seat belt to fit correctly, they should continue to use a booster seat.
Do You Need A Car Seat in a Taxi in Las Vegas?
No, you do not need a car seat in a taxi in Las Vegas. Nevada law 484B.157(7)(a)4 says that Nevada’s seat belt law does not apply to public transportation, including taxis. However, even though a car seat is not required in a taxi in Las Vegas, it is always a good idea to comply with the State of Nevada’s car seat use guidelines.
Do You Need a Car Seat for an Uber in Las Vegas?
The requirement of using a car seat for an Uber in Las Vegas5 is unclear. Car seats are not required for public transportation, including taxis. However, the law does not mention Uber or define whether it is considered public transportation.
While a car seat may not be required in an Uber or any other ridesharing service, it is always vital for the child’s safety to comply with age-appropriate car seat recommendations.
The law says that:
- The person transporting the child shall restrain the child in a car seat.
- The seat must be approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation for the child’s size and weight.
- The seat must be installed or attached to the motor vehicle in compliance with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration or the manufacturer’s instructions.
NRS 484B.1576 creates civil penalties, including fines and community service for Nevada car seat laws violations.
When Can a Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nevada?
There is no particular age for when a child can sit in the front seat in Nevada.
However, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles recommends that children sit in the back seat until at least age 12.
In addition, children should use a booster seat until the seat belt can fit properly, covering the thighs and not the stomach. The law allows the driver to determine when it’s best for a child to sit in the front seat in Nevada.
What Are Car Seat Ticket & Penalties in Nevada
Car seat penalties in Nevada range from $100 up to a fine of $1,000. They include:
- For a first offense, the maximum penalty is a fine of $100 to $500 or 10-50 hours of community service. In addition, if the offender has a prior conviction, the penalty is from $500 to $1,000.
- For a first or second offense, the defendant has the opportunity to complete child seat education and have their car seat inspected. If they provide proof of completion to the court, the court must cut their penalties in half. A driver can get only one sentence reduction for completing the training and inspection.
- A third offense results in a license suspension from 30-180 days.
Are There Car Seat Law Exceptions?
Nevada car seat laws allow some children to have exceptions. If it would be dangerous for a particular child to use a car seat, the child may be excused from the requirement. To be excused from the law, the driver must have a signed statement from a doctor or an advanced practice nurse. The driver must have the note with them in the vehicle.
Contact Our Nevada Car Accident Lawyers
Have you been in an accident? Is not wearing a seat belt an issue in your case? We’re here to help. Adam Kutner injury attorneys can help you navigate the law and deal with insurance companies to create a winning case. Contact us today for a free consultation about your case.
2Buckle Up!Seat Belts – Nevada DMV Traffic Safety Quick Tips. Retrieved 29 April 2022.
3Car Seat Safety Tips. Safe Kids Worldwide. Retrieved 29 April 2022.
5State Laws for Child Safety Seats in Rideshare Vehicles. kidsridesafe.org. Retrieved 29 April 2022.
This webpage is not intended to be an advertisement or solicitation. The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Material contained in our website is for general information only and does not constitute legal advice or solicitation of legal services.
Transmission of information from this site is not intended to create, and its receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship between Adam S. Kutner and the user of this site. In the event that any information on this web site does not conform fully with regulations in any jurisdiction, this law firm will not accept representation based on that information.
Adam S. Kutner
PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER
With more than 31 years of experience fighting for victims of personal injury in the Las Vegas valley, Attorney Adam S. Kutner knows his way around the Nevada court system and how to get clients their settlement promptly and trouble-free.
Adam Kutner es uno de los 100 mejores abogados litigantes con experiencia y conocimientos que lo beneficiarán
Llámenos hoy al (702) 382-0000 en cualquier momento para programar una consulta gratuita. Trabajaremos para conseguirle la máxima liquidación lo antes posible.
Adam S. Kutner, Esq.
Conozca a más abogados asociados
Adam Kutner Reviews & Testimonials
“We were in a car accident – we were coming off of the interstate and were waiting – yielding at the exit and a car sped through the exit and smacked us in the rear.
It was definitely scary especially because we had our baby in the car. My husband and I and our baby in the back seat. We definitely – immediately went back in and checked on her to make sure she was okay.
We definitely had back pains my daughter had headaches. She kept holding her head and crying. It was pretty bad.
I remember seeing a couple billboards and a friend of mine did say they had a pleasant experience with Adam Kutner, so we called them right up.
They definitely were thorough, and you could tell just by talking to the people in the office that they genuinely cared about their clients.
They contacted us saying you know, explain the process on how the settlement gets done and about a week after that happened we had our settlement which was great and in my opinion Adam S. Kutner is the best attorney in Las Vegas.”
– Janae Reynolds. 5/5 Stars
Real Client Testimonial: Janae Reynolds