Each state has its own set of statutes related to auto insurance. Some states are known as “fault” states, and others are “no fault” states. Nevada is a “fault” state. It requires its drivers to have liability insurance for a minimum amount of $ 15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $ 30,000 per accident for bodily injury to more than one person, and $ 10,000 per accident. There is no requirement in Nevada that drivers have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. It’s optional as medical payments coverage, and it’s available if drivers want it. Medical payments coverage is cheap and Nevada drivers should have it.
What is PIP insurance?
PIP insurance is a form of auto insurance coverage that is often called “no-fault” insurance. It is mandatory in 15 states and pays personal injury claims up to a threshold, regardless of who was at fault in a car accident . Each state sets its own PIP threshold.
A state can express its PIP threshold verbally or in dollars for medical bills incurred by its insured. A verbal threshold is expressed in the context of the severity of the injury, but the courts are eroding verbal thresholds due to a history of abuse by some physicians and other healthcare providers.
How does PIP coverage work?
Anyone who is injured in a car accident files their own PIP claim with their own insurer. Each driver’s insurance company then pays for your insured person’s damages up to their state limit. If the bodily injuries exceed the threshold, the injured person can file a lawsuit directly against the driver who caused the accident.
What does PIP cover?
The extent of protection that the PIP might cover depends on the requirements of the state in which you live. It almost always covers reasonable medical expenses related to a car accident, and if your injuries are so severe that you are unable to care for your children, you may be reimbursed for the cost of a babysitter or other household expenses. It can cover lost earnings up to a limit along with a limited amount of funeral and burial expenses in the event of a wrongful death . You must seek treatment for your injuries and file your claim for compensation within a specified time from the date of your accident.
Factors Affecting PIP Coverage
Just because a driver lives in a “no fault” insurance status does not mean that an insured person’s premium will not increase after an accident. What could determine your final premium on PIP coverage are:
- If it is mandatory in your state.
- Your driving record and claims
- Your age and gender
- Your marital status
- Where you live
The benefits of PIP coverage
You may have health insurance for yourself, but regardless of who was at fault, if one or more of your passengers were injured and did not have health insurance, they are likely covered by your PIP. If you or your passengers want to wait for the responsible party’s insurer to pay, don’t hold your breath. It could take a year or two. Remember that PIP coverage can also pay for certain expenses that are not medically related.
Does Nevada require PIP insurance coverage?
No, Nevada does not require PIP insurance and does not require drivers to have medical payments coverage. That puts the driver and passengers without PIP insurance in a very unfavorable position in the event that one or all of them are injured in an accident.
Difference between PIP coverage and medical payments coverage
Medical payments coverage has a benefit. Generally, it covers you and anyone else in your vehicle who is injured in an accident, regardless of your liability. PIP expands to that, and if you receive compensation for your injuries from the at-fault driver, you are not obligated to repay the benefits you received from your PIP coverage. Medical payments coverage would require you to reimburse your insurer for amounts paid on your behalf. However, medical payments coverage does not require a deductible and there are no copayment or coinsurance charges.
Should I get PIP coverage anyway?
Whether it’s medical payment coverage or PIP, you must have one or the other. Both are cheap, and medical payments coverage is available in Nevada. Although not mandatory, it is recommended.
Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Medical payments or PIP coverage will only help you up to a point. If you or anyone in your vehicle was injured in an accident with an uninsured, underinsured, or run and run driver, you will want uninsured motorist coverage. Underinsurance coverage is combined with it. Not only that covers you. It generally covers your family members who are blood relatives, whether or not they are in your insured vehicle. If you or any of them are injured as bicyclists or pedestrians , they are likely still all covered, even if the accident is the fault of a rushing driver.
The law of negligence, liability, “failure states” and “no-fault states” is highly complicated. Remember that if you are the victim of the negligence and negligence of another driver, any insurance company will try to cut your losses. We are here to maximize your compensation. Adam S. Kutner is a highly experienced, aggressive and successful Las Vegas personal injury attorney. If you or someone close to you was injured in a car accident in Las Vegas or anywhere in Nevada, contact their officesat 702-720-3223 for a free consultation and case evaluation. If you retain your law firm to represent you in your personal injury case, you will not be charged legal fees until such time as he obtains compensation for you.